About SWAT

The Southwest Area Transportation Committee (“SWAT”) is one of four Regional Transportation Planning Committees within Contra Costa County, and represents the South County sub-region. It is composed of elected representatives and technical staff from the Cities of Lafayette, Orinda, and San Ramon; the Towns of Danville and Moraga; and the unincorporated area of Southern Contra Costa County. SWAT is responsible for the development of transportation plans, programs, and policies throughout the sub-region as well as the appointment of two representatives to the Contra Costa Transportation Authority (“CCTA”).

The three other Regional Transportation Planning Committees within Contra Costa County are TRANSPAC, TRANSPLAN and WCCTAC.

About CCTA


CCTA is a public agency formed by Contra Costa voters in 1988 to manage the county’s transportation sales tax program and countywide transportation planning, and is responsible for maintaining and improving the county’s transportation system through planning, funding, and delivering transportation infrastructure projects and programs. CCTA is also the county’s designated Congestion Management Agency (CMA), responsible for putting programs in place to keep traffic levels manageable. Read More »

Documents

Tri-Valley Transportation Plan and Action Plan

The 2014 TVTC Plan is the third major update. It first reassesses transportation issues within the Tri-Valley area, then refines the vision statements, goals, policies, and objectives, and finally, updates the actions, measures, programs, and projects that will help to achieve the plan objectives. 

Lamorinda Action Plan

The 2014 Lamorinda Action Plan assesses regional transportation issues within the Lamorinda area and outlines a recommended package of vision statements, goals, policies, objectives, and actions for addressing those issues. The study area includes Moraga, Lafayette, Orinda, and portions of unincorporated Contra Costa.

Committee Members and Staff

JurisdictionCommittee Member/Elected OfficialStaff (TAC)
Contra Costa CountyCandace Andersen, District II Supervisor
Candace.andersen@bos.cccounty.us
Robert Sarmiento
Robert.Sarmiento@dcd.cccounty.us
Town of DanvilleKaren Stepper, Council Member
2022 Chair
kstepper@danville.ca.gov
Andy Dillard
adillard@danville.ca.gov
City of LafayetteTeresa Gerringer, Mayor
tgerringer@lovelafayette.org
Mike Moran
MMoran@ci.lafayette.ca.us
Town of MoragaRenata Sos, Council Member
rsos@moraga.ca.us
Bret Swain
bswain@moraga.ca.us
City of OrindaAmy Worth, Council Member
2022 Vice Chair
aworth@cityoforinda.org
Sivakumar Natarajan
SNatarajan@cityoforinda.org
City of San RamonDavid Hudson, Mayor
dhudson@sanramon.ca.gov
Chris Weeks
cweeks@sanramon.ca.gov

Other Staff

SWAT Administrative Staff
Chris Weeks
cweeks@sanramon.ca.gov

SWAT 511 Contra Costa TDM Program Senior Analyst
Darlene Amaral
damaral@sanramon.ca.gov

Contra Costa Transportation Authority Staff
John Hoang
jhoang@ccta.net

County Connection Staff
Melody Reebs
reebs@cccta.org

BART Staff
Kamala Parks
kparks2@bart.gov

Committee Assignments

Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA)
Dave Hudson
Term Ends: 1/31/2024
Alternate: Karen Stepper

Teresa Gerringer
Term Ends: 1/31/2023
Alternate: Renata Sos

CCTA Technical Coordinating Committee
Shawn Knapp
Engineering
Term Ends: 3/1/2023
Alternate: Vacant

Andy Dillard
Transportation Planning
Term Ends: 3/1/2023
Alternate: Patrick Golier

Chris Weeks
Planning
Term Ends: 3/1/2023
Alternate: Vacant

Countywide Bicycle & Pedestrian Plan Oversight Committee
Chris Weeks, City of San Ramon
Term Ends: 12/31/2023
Alternate: Darlene Amaral, City of San Ramon

Bill Keeshen, Citizen Rep
Term Ends: 12/31/2023